Autistic? Autism spectrum? Asperger syndrome? Neurotypical (not)? And other testing, etc.

Okay, so I’m certainly not the most social of creatures on the planet. I am both introverted and shy.

But, more recently – and I think for the first time ever, a certain someone – perhaps mostly from their astute and keen powers of observation – was hinting/suggesting that at least perhaps I might be on or towards the autism spectrum. So, … not necessarily at all 100% scientifically accurate, but, nevertheless, I took some online tests – rather expecting they’d likely show something roughly around “normal”, but alas, to me, anyway, at least a bit of a surprise.

(emphasis mine on these online test result bits and quotes)
How neurotypical are you? – I scored:

You are 27% neurotypical!
You aren’t that neurotypical. Social skills aren’t your strong suit and you tend to have more skill in other areas, however, you may still enjoy socializing. It is likely that you are autistic.

Hmmmm… thinks me, … no idea how “accurate” or well sourced, etc. that particular test is. So, I search online for another – one to be fairly assuredly accurate – as least insofar as any readily available online test goes.

So, I found this one:
Take The AQ Test – I scored:
Score: 39
Where it had this to say about that:

Psychologist Simon Baron-Cohen and his colleagues at Cambridge’s Autism Research Centre have created the Autism-Spectrum Quotient, or AQ, as a measure of the extent of autistic traits in adults. In the first major trial using the test, the average score in the control group was 16.4. Eighty percent of those diagnosed with autism or a related disorder scored 32 or higher. The test is not a means for making a diagnosis, however, and many who score above 32 and even meet the diagnostic criteria for mild autism or Asperger’s report no difficulty functioning in their everyday lives.

I find it interesting, fascinating, and also quite surprising. At not all that far from being half a century old, if, on those scales, I’m really not that “normal”, am not neurotypical, and are or may be autistic and/or at least onto – or quite towards the autistic spectrum, I wonder how and why nobody before ever mentioned, hinted, or suggested such might even possibly be the case. Likewise, I quite missed it too – never thought it might at all possibly be the case, at least in terms of what I’d typically thought of in terms of autism and autism spectrum disorders and Asperger syndrome. I even know someone with Asperger syndrome, and still, though I’d considered the possibilities, I never seriously thought I might actually possibly be somewhere on the autism spectrum.

Anyway, I’ll definitely have to look further into autism and autism spectrum, etc. May quite be something there that needs being paid attention to and/or acted upon.

[If other related or semi-related bits, or unrelated tests aren’t of interest to you, you may want to skip to the very tail end of this blog entry.]

Other various mental/neurological tests.

In elementary school, I got at least one extra round of hearing tests at request of teacher. Teacher thought maybe I had a hearing problem, … probably because teacher would call on me, and I’d be like, “Huh?”, and not particularly aware of the context of whatever the teacher was talking about immediately before calling upon me. The reality in that case most generally was, what the teacher was going on about was rather to quite uninteresting to me, … and/or, even if interesting to me, was droning on at what, at least for me, was a mind numbingly slow place … so, … my head would go off into it’s own world, thinking or daydreaming about much more interesting stuff. Sure, I’d still be sort’a kind’a paying attention to the teacher, but far from my complete and undivided attention. And yeah, all the hearing tests always came back normal.

Again, in elementary school. Teacher recommended me for an “intelligence” test – or at least I’m pretty sure that’s more or less, or exactly what it was. Teacher thought I was rather to quite capable, and likewise smart. So, that teacher recommended I be tested (I actually did damn well in that teacher’s class – excellent teacher, and really the first time I’d ever particularly excelled academically – that was 5th grade – also the first time I ever managed to get lots of A’s (or maybe even straight A’s – I forget precisely what my best set of grades in the class were). Anyway, teacher recommended me for the “IQ” test, or whatever it was. I’ve no idea what the score was, or what the cut-off level was, however, I scored sufficiently high, that they put you in, what was then called “special class” – basically take the bright kids, and for some hour(s) a week, pull ’em out of the regular class stuff, and give ’em some particularly more interesting and challenging stuff to do. Interesting too, that test I took … I was only 10 years old at the time, yet I very clearly still remember two of the questions from that test – I thought they were pretty trivial and I excelled at those two questions. Not sure about all the other questions – I guess not so interesting/memorable – but I guess I generally did at least quite “well enough” on those, and overall. Never got to go to “special class”, though, not even once. Test was done between school sessions. Next session, a whopping 3 days into the new school year, and bye bye to that school – family move to new school in different district – and no such testing or program for the bright(er) kids, they just lumped ’em all together (though they did have a lot of self-paced stuff, at least).

And IQ? Not gonna say specifically – also there are various tests that measure and report different scales on the numbering, etc., so they’re not all exactly one-to-one mapping on the numbers. Additionally, some types of “IQ” tests tend to more measure some types of capabilities and skills than others, and vice versa – so results aren’t particularly uniform. But nevertheless, at least percentage-wise, I typically score somewhere in the range of about top 5% to about top 1.5% or so. Okay, sure, smart, intelligent. But no friggin’ genius. I’ve had some brushes with one I know of genius intelligence level – and by comparison, such genius intelligence and capability levels make me and the vast majority of quite smart people look like a bunch of incapable and untalented dunces – not that we at all are, but by way of comparison, the difference is that dramatic and extreme, that is, at least comparatively, how we appear.

And, as a favorite teacher in high school used to quite commonly say, “Everything is relative.”. I don’t agree 100%, but it certainly is applicable in most all cases.

P.S. – If by chance you started on this “page”/article of my blog as your very first, for “next”, probably best to go to: Me and my blog (a starting point, yep, right *here*!)

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Autistic? Autism spectrum? Asperger syndrome? Neurotypical (not)? And other testing, etc.”

  1. MichaelBerkeley Says:

    Reading wee bit more on Asperger syndrome, e.g.:
    Love and Asperger’s syndrome http://www.telegraph.co.uk/health/3354140/Love-and-Aspergers-syndrome.html
    It seems highly to *exceedingly* probable, to me, that my dad has Asperger’s syndrome, and probably a whole helluva lot worse than I (if we so much as presume I have it). But too, there’s also bit of case of “insufficient data”. It’s been over a quarter century since my dad so much as called or wrote me or sent anything to me. He’s totally removed himself from all his familial relationships – he moved away without so much as even telling a single family member. That too might all well be considered symptom(s), but mostly I was thinking of his whole life history – at least those parts I’m most familiar with. Asperger’s syndrome just seems to fit way too damn well – and much more extremely than compared to me.

Leave a Reply

