Personality Types … & Myers-Briggs

For the (perversely?) curious, and those that wanna know …
So, what “type” am I?

Well, not that I’m all that much into (over-)categorization, etc., and think such measurements can be misused, misinterpreted, and abused …

But, nevertheless, for those that want to know …

Some of the results I’ve gotten on these Myers-Briggs type tests.

Thought I’d done same or quite similar test in 2003 … looked that one up, different test, so I’ll skip that one, at least for now.

So, …

2011-10-15
From the OkCupid The LONG Scientific Personality Test I got:
ISTJ – The Inspector
You scored 9% I to E, 53% N to S, 81% F to T, and 42% J to P!

2012-02-20
From Personality test based on Jung and Briggs Myers typology I got:
Your Type is
INTJ
Introverted Intuitive Thinking Judging
Strength of the preferences %
89 50 62 78
And again, same day (2012-02-20) – probably less than an hour later, from: OkCupid The LONG Scientific Personality Test I got:
INTJ -The Mastermind
You scored 9% I to E, 47% N to S, 90% F to T, and 47% J to P!

Some of my comments on such, for what it’s worth:
First of all, each time I take such test(s), I find a lot of the questions I could just as easily pick either answer quite accurately. Had some earlier comments in a bit of detail I sent someone, but accidentally deleted those messages (bugger – a different interface I wasn’t quite used to, an all-too-easy-to-delete feature/button, with labeling that could be misread/misinterpreted at quick glance, and no undelete function … acidentally gone, relative rarity for me … “oh well”). Anyway, so, statistically, they’re probably not that accurate, given such. I think they attempt to ask questions to quickly “split down the middle” – which ends up not too accurate when one’s right around or on the border they’re trying to split. I’d guess they’d get more accurate statistical results if they asked a lot more question, and gave levels (e.g. ranking degree of agree/disagree) and/or various questions to split apart things not so much always around the middle, but also spreading the “dividing” point for each question about, to different areas within each range being split. Nevertheless, as I’ve thus far tested out on these …
I to E – yeah, strongly I.
N to S – I’m pretty much right around the borderline, so don’t fit squarely/solidly into either. Likely slightly more N leaning, than S, but pretty close.
T to F … fairly to significantly towards the T side.
J to P … fairly close, … or not, depending which test one is looking at. I likely lean a moderate bit to the J side.

2012-05-02 – and updating a wee bit. Another test, another (rather/quite similar) set of results. So, 2012-05-02, from from: OkCupid The strangely accurate personality Test I got:
INTJ
You scored 81 Introversion, 71 iNtuitiveness, 29 Feelingness and 69 Judgingness!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

